The European Union has published measures this weekend which re-designate Sina Bank, Babak Zanjani, Sorinet Commercial Trust Bankers and Sharif University of Technology on its sanctions measures relating to Iran.

They had all won their actions for annulment in the European Court in June / July this year, the Council of the EU had not appealed, and so they had all been de-listed – see previous blog.  The Council says it has now amended the reasons for their designations.

The Council has confirmed that it has not re-listed Fulmen and Mr Fereydoun Mahmoudian, who had also won their cases in the European Court (including on appeal – see here), and has amended the reasons for listing three other entities (Power Plants’ Equipment Manufacturing Company, Naftiran Intertrade Company, and Naftiran Intertrade Company Srl).

The new Decision and Regulation are here, and on the ‘sanctions in force’ section of this blog.

This entry was posted in Iran, Latest EU Measures by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s