On 14 February 2014, the European Union published a notice stating its intention to maintain restrictive measures against sixteen individuals, targeted in view of the situation in Ukraine.  The EU also announced that it would seek to amend the statement of reasons given for each person.

The individuals were originally listed in the Annex to Council Decision 2014/145/CFSP and Annex I to Council Regulation (EU) 269/2014.

The people concerned are:

Mr Sergey Valeryevich AKSYONOV, Mr Andriy PURGIN, Mr Denys PUSHYLIN, Mr Viacheslav PONOMARIOV, Mr Oleg TSARIOV, Mr Aleksandr Yurevich BORODAI, Mr Alexander KHODAKOVSKY, Mr Yurij IVAKIN, Mr Igor PLOTNITSKY, Ms. Ekaterina GUBAREVA, Mr Fedor BEREZIN, Mr Boris LITVINOV, Mr Arkady Romanovich ROTENBERG, Mr Miroslav Vladimirovich RUDENKO, Mr Andrey Yurevich PINCHUK, and Mr Aleksandr KOFMAN

The named individuals have until 20 February 2015 to submit a request to the Council to obtain the intended statements of reasons for their designation.

A full list of sanctions currently in force against Russia can be found in the “sanctions in force” section of this blog.

This entry was posted in Latest EU Measures, Russia, Ukraine by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s