The European Union has renewed its counterterrorist sanctions against 10 people and 23 entities, and removed 2 other entities. Listed parties are subject to an EU-wide asset freeze.

The two entities that have been deleted are:

  1. Al-Takfir and Al-Hijra
  2. Holy Land Foundation for Relief and Development

These changes are set out in Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2015/513 implementing Council Regulation (EC) 2580/2001 and Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/521 updating Common Position 2001/931/CFSP and repealing Council Decision 2014/483/CFSP.  The corresponding HM Treasury notice is here.

This entry was posted in Latest EU Measures, Terrorist Sanctions by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s