The EU Committee of Permanent Representatives (part of the Council of the EU) has agreed to renew European economic sanctions against Russia for 6 months.  The Foreign Affairs Council, made up of the foreign ministers of all EU Member States, is expected to ratify this at a meeting on 22 June.

These sanctions (inter alia) prohibit financial transactions with major Russian state banks, ban the export to Russia of energy-exploration equipment, and prevent the sale of weapons and some dual-use civilian goods to Russia.  They were due to expire on 31 July 2015 before being renewed.  A separate regime, which imposes EU-wide asset freezes and travel bans on 151 people and entities said to have undermined Ukraine’s sovereignty, territorial integrity, or independence, is currently due to expire on 15 September 2015 (see previous blog).

This entry was posted in Latest EU Measures, Russia, Ukraine by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s