A Russian presidential decree mandating the destruction of all banned Western food products on site, following the Russian embargo on their import last year, came into force last week and is now in effect. The embargo has been extended until 5 August 2016 (see previous blog). Importing fruit, vegetables, meat and cheeses from the EU and other countries that instituted sanctions against Russia is banned.

There have also been reports that Russia is drafting a proposal to extend its food embargo to include 7 more countries, all of which have backed EU sanctions against Russia. The mooted countries are Albania, Montenegro, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Ukraine, and Georgia, although President Putin’s spokesman Mr Peskov has stated that “The exact list of countries is being discussed”.

This entry was posted in Russia by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s