The EU Council has renewed its sanctions targeting people and entities said to be “responsible for undermining the territorial integrity, independence, or security of Ukraine” for another 6 months, until 15 March 2016. The sanctions subject 149 people and 37 entities to an EU-wide asset freeze and travel ban.

The EU Committee of Permanent Representatives agreed to the renewal of these sanctions, imposed by Council Regulation (EU) 269/2014 and Council Decision 2014/145/CFSP, earlier this month (see previous blog).

The sanctions are extended by Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1524 amending Council Decision 2014/145/CFSP, which along with Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2015/1514 implementing Council Regulation 269/2014 also de-lists one person, Oleksiy Borisovych Mozgovy, and updates the entries for 149 people and 1 entity.  HM Treasury’s notice on the de-listing is here.

This entry was posted in Latest EU Measures, Russia, Ukraine by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s