EU to sanction 3 leaders opposed to Libya’s unity government

The EU is to impose sanctions on 3 Libyan leaders who are opposing the Western-backed unity government in Libya.  They are Nouri Abusahmain, president of Libya’s rival parliament the General National Congress in Tripoli, Khalifa al-Ghwell, prime minister of the government in Tripoli, and Aguila Saleh, president of the internationally recognised parliament in Tobruk.

This follows a meeting of the Foreign Ministers of the US, France, Germany, Italy, and the UK and the High Representative of the EU earlier this week, who called on all public bodies in Libya to facilitate an immediate handover of power to the Government of National Accord, the unity government. Legal measures imposing the new sanctions are expected to be published in next few days.

This entry was posted in Libya by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s