OFAC sanctions 6 Crimean members of the Russian Parliament

OFAC has designated 6 members of the Russian Parliament, all of whom were elected to the State Duma to represent the Crimea & Sevastopol region of Ukraine in September.  In a coordinated action, the 6 people were designated by the EU last week (see previous blog).  In the US Treasury’s press release, Acting Director of OFAC John Smith stated that “The United States does not recognise the illegitimate elections to the Russia State Duma that took place in Crimea” and emphasised the joint US-EU commitment to maintain pressure on Russia “until it respects the security and sovereignty of Ukraine”.

This entry was posted in Russia, Ukraine, USA by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s