EU adds 17 people to DPRK sanctions list

EU5.jpgThe EU has added 17 people to its DPRK sanctions list, including a number of N Korean Embassy diplomats. The designations are said to be due to their involvement in “illegal trade activities” and activities aimed at “facilitating the evasion of [UN] sanctions”. See Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/89, Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/87, EU press release and UK OFSI Notice.

This entry was posted in Latest EU Measures, North Korea by Maya Lester QC. Bookmark the permalink.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC has a wide ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. As the most recent (2016) Chambers & Partners directory put it, she "owns the world of sanctions". She spent 2011-12 in New York at Columbia Law School lecturing and writing on sanctions. She represents and advises hundreds of companies and individuals before the European and English courts and has acted in most of the leading cases, including Kadi, Tay Za, Central Bank of Iran, NITC and IRISL.

Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s