UN & EU delist 3 entities from Iraq sanctions

UN2Last week (8 January), the UN Security Council removed 3 entities from its Iraq sanctions list: General Establishment for Designs and Research, State Enterprise for Aluminum Semi Products, and State Enterprise for Cables and Wires. As a result, they will no longer be subject to UN asset freezes. See UN Press Release.

The EU implemented these sanctions de-listings today (14 January), see Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/51.

EU implements first UN-Mali listings

EU3Last month, the UN Security Council added 3 individuals to its Mali sanctions list: Ahmoudou Ag Asriw, Mahamadou Ag Rhissa, and Mohamed Ousmane Ag Mohamedoune (travel bans only). They were the first designations to be made under the UN’s Mali sanctions (see previous blog).

Today (10 January), the EU implemented these listings to its Mali sanctions list, see Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2019/29. As a result, they will now be subject to EU-wide travel bans only.

EU adds 3 Iranian persons to terrorism sanctions list over foiled European attacks

EU2Today (9 January), the EU added 2 Iranian individuals, Assadollah Asadi and Saeid Hashemi Moghadam, and the Directorate for Internal Security of the Iranian Ministry for Intelligence and Security to its terrorism sanctions list (measures set down in Common Position 2001/931/CFSP). The listings were made in response to “recent foiled attacks on the European soil” (see previous blog). As a result, they will now be subject to EU asset freezes. The EU also renewed all the other listings under this sanctions regime. See Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/25, Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/24, and EU Press Release.

UN & EU delist 1 entity from Iraq sanctions

Iraq1On 27 December 2018, the UN Security Council removed Rayon State Establishment from its Iraq sanctions list. As a result, it will no longer be subject to UN asset freezing measures. See UN Press Release.

The EU implemented this delisting today (8 January), see Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/23.

EU prolongs Russia sectoral sanctions until 31 July 2019

EU6As foreshadowed, the EU today prolonged its sanctions targeting the financial, energy and defence sectors of the Russian economy until 31 July 2019. This decision was reached due to “no progress” having been made on the implementation of the Minsk agreements, to which these sanctions are linked.

The EU measures were originally introduced in July 2014 for 1 year (and strengthened in September 2014) in response to “Russia’s actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine”. They have been renewed every 6 months since. See Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/2078 and EU Press Release.

EU sanctions 7 Burmese military officials over human rights abuses

EU Commission2Today (21 December), the EU added 7 people to its Myanmar/Burma sanctions list (asset freezes and travel bans). The sanctioned individuals are part of the Myanmar army (Tatmadaw) and the border guard police, and were listed for “serious human rights violations committed against the Rohingya population, ethnic minority villagers or civilians”. See Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/2054, Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/2053, and EU Press Release.

The 7 individuals: Ba Kyaw; Tun Naing; Khin Hlaing; Aung Myo Thu; Thant Zaw Win; Kyaw Chay; and Nyi Nyi Swe.

Changes to EU list of controlled dual-use items due in coming weeks

EU3The time period for the European Council and Parliament to comment on changes to the EU’s list of dual-use items subject to export controls ended on 10 December 2018, and the changes are now likely to take effect in the coming weeks. The majority of changes to the dual-use items list, found in Annex I of Regulation 428/2009, were agreed at the 2017 Plenary of the Wassenaar Arrangement. The full list of changes is available here.

EU implements UN’s lifting of Eritrea sanctions

EU6Last month (14 November), the UN Security Council adopted UNSC Resolution 2444 (2018), which terminated with immediate effect all UN sanctions against Eritrea (arms embargo, asset freezes and travel bans).

Last week (10 December), the EU implemented this UN action by adopting Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/1944 and Council Regulation (EU) 2018/1932.