Canada lists 52 foreign nationals under Magnitsky law

Canada3.jpgPursuant to the recently passed Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (Sergei Magnitsky Law) (see previous blog here), Canada has imposed targeted sanctions on 52 foreign nationals (including 30 Russians) by enacting the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Regulations. The Regulations were made in response to three different sets of circumstances, namely, “the case of Sergei Magnitsky, and incidents of corruption and gross human rights violations by officials linked to the Maduro regime and by officials in South Sudan”, see here.

The Regulations prohibit any person in Canada, or any Canadian outside of Canada, from dealing, directly or indirectly, with any of the listed foreign nationals.

In response to the measures, Russian authorities have imposed a ban on a number of Canadian public figures from entering Russia (without specifying who has been affected).

US targets South Sudanese government officials

The US has designated 2 South Sudanese government officials and 1 former official for their roles in destabilising South Sudan. The people are Deputy Chief of Defence Force Malek Riak Rengu, 3 of whose companies have also been designated, Minister of Information and Broadcasting Michael Lueth, and former Chief of General Staff of the Sudan People’s Liberation Army Paul Awan. The details of the listings are here.

In addition, FinCEN has issued an advisory to financial institutions alerting them to their potential exposure to anti-money laundering risks caused by certain South Sudanese senior political figures attempting to move or hide the proceeds of public corruption.

EU conclusions DPRK, S Sudan and Syria sanctions

eu-flag-1-commissionNorth Korea: The Council welcomed the latest round of UN sanctions on N Korea (see previous blog) and says it will consider new restrictive measures.

South Sudan: The Council states that it is ready to impose further autonomous restrictive measures on “any individual who obstructs the peace process, impedes UNMINSS in the performance of its mandate, prevents actors from exercising their humanitarian duties, incites ethnic hatred, or commits atrocities against civilians”.

Syria: The EU’s High Representative, Federica Mogherini, has said the EU intends to impose further restrictive measures targeting Syrian individuals and entities “supporting the regime” for as long as it continues to repress civilians and violate human rights.

US proposes new UN sanctions on South Sudan

The US has circulated a draft resolution to the UN Security Council, proposing an arms embargo on South Sudan and new targeted sanctions against those responsible for its violent conflict.  UN Special Adviser on the Prevention of Genocide Adama Dieng recently reported to the Security Council that there was “a strong risk of violence escalating along ethnic lines with a potential for genocide”.

Both Russia and China have voiced opposition to the introduction of an arms embargo, which they believe would be ineffective in view of how many weapons are already in South Sudan, and further targeted sanctions.  In July 2015, the UN Security Council imposed a UN-wide asset freeze and travel ban on 6 rival commanders in South Sudan, and earlier this year extended those sanctions until 31 May 2017 (see previous blog).

EU declaration on South Sudan sanctions

The EU’s High Representative, Federica Mogherini, has issued a declaration on South Sudan following widespread violence in July this year.  The EU has reiterated its call on all parties to implement the Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in good faith, and remains ready to impose sanctions on anyone undermining South Sudan’s peace process.  The declaration notes that the EU has long maintained an arms embargo on South Sudan, and supports the UN Security Council’s willingness to consider additional measures, including an arms embargo, should obstruction of the UN’s mission in South Sudan continue.

UN extends South Sudan sanctions

The UN Security Council has passed a resolution renewing its targeted sanctions against people responsible for or involved in actions that threaten the peace, security, or stability of South Sudan, until 31 May 2017.  The designation criteria include the leaders of any entity (including any government or opposition group), whose members have engaged in such actions.

In the new resolution, the Security Council welcomed the formation of the Transitional Government of National Unity on 29 April 2016 as a “vital step” towards implementation of the UN-approved peace agreement for South Sudan, but expressed its deep concern that South Sudan’s leaders had not fully implemented their commitments under the agreement and were not fully adhering to a ceasefire.

UN extends South Sudan sanctions

The UN Security Council has voted unanimously to renew its targeted sanctions against people said to be blocking peace in war-afflicted South Sudan until 1 June 2016 (see Resolution 2280).  The sanctions impose a travel ban and asset freeze on listed people.

The Security Council also extended the mandate of the panel of experts overseeing the sanctions until 1 July, with the intention of reviewing the mandate and deciding by 1 June whether to renew it further.


The UN Security Council has imposed a UN-wide asset freeze and travel ban on six rival commanders from South Sudan, the first people to be listed by the UN for threatening the peace and stability of the world’s newest state (see blog on the creation of its sanctions committee here).  The listings of the 6 commanders were proposed by the US in late June, co-sponsored by the UK and France, and with no objections voiced by other members of the Security Council by yesterday’s deadline they have now come into force.

Government commander Major-General Chanuong Yol Mangok is accused of “the slaughter of Nuer civilians in and around Juba, many of whom were buried in mass graves”, and is joined by Lieutenant-General Jok Riak, and Major-General Santino Deng.  On the rebel side, Major-General Peter Gadet is said to have targeted “civilians, including women, in April 2014 during an assault on Bentiu, including targeted killings on the basis of ethnicity”.  He is joined by commanders Major-General Gatwech Dual, and Major-General Koang Chuol.

In listing the 6 people the UN has joined the US and EU, who have already imposed sanctions on rival commanders in the country (see previous blog).  Following the UN listings, OFAC has also added Lieutenant-General Jok Riak and Major-General Gatwech Dual to its list of Specially Designated Nationals, where they join the 4 other commanders who were listed previously (US Treasury press release here).

HM Treasury’s notice is here.